The California Dental Boards of Health and the Department of Public Health are expected to vote this week on a bill that would expand access to dental care for people who have not had access to it before.
The California DCTB’s dental board has until February 20 to decide whether to approve or reject the bill.
The proposal has attracted criticism from some dentists, who have warned that it would have a devastating effect on patients.
The bill, AB 856, would require that all California dental offices open to the public within a 30-day period to offer free dental care.
It would also require that dental professionals have an annual license to practice dentistry in the state, a license that would be issued by the state and would be valid for five years.
The proposal would also allow patients who do not have a valid license to obtain a California-issued dental license for $10 per visit.
It also would require all dental offices in California to be certified as dental offices of record by the California Department of State Health Services.
The proposed law would also expand the use of dental technology.
The bill would allow the state to require dental technicians to wear a face shield during oral hygiene procedures and allow for the use for preventive care of dental implants and appliances.
The dental board also wants to increase access to oral hygiene services.
The board would also prohibit dentists from practicing dental surgery unless they have a state-issued license and would require the state-licensed dental technicians who practice dental surgery to obtain an annual state-certified license.
The legislation would also set up a dental audit agency to conduct audits of dental facilities to make sure they are meeting state requirements.
The governor and the state attorney general have said that they would veto the bill if it becomes law.